16 Days

Campaigning to end gender based violence.

Members of the Bristol Diocese Mothers’ Union raising
awareness of gender based violence 26 November 2022

Perhaps your first question is: Why 16 days? Why not a nice neat ten, or a straightforward 2 weeks? 16 Days is the time between 2 annual fixed dates in the calendar. The 25th November is the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women. 16 Days later, on the 10th December, is Human Rights Day. The annual campaign is recognised and supported by the United nations (UN). It is joined in raising awareness of the issue by the international organisation, the Mothers’ Union (MU), of which I am proud to be a member (more about that here).

On the day I write this, 26th November 2022, the MU in the Bristol Diocese area of the United Kingdom, along with MU dioceses around the world, is holding an awareness event and vigil to make local people aware of the issue. The awareness campaign was lead by Bristol Diocese Mothers’ Union president, Jacky Frederickson. Readers of this blog may remember that this is not the first time I have addressed this issue (No More 1 in 3). It is however the first time I do so from a local and personal point of view.

Gender based violence is not exclusive to women but it accounts for the vast majority. I have no official figures but I’d guess probably over 90% is violence, or abuse of some kind, against women. I also think, and this is an entirely personal opinion for which I have no verifiable evidence, that violence against women is more prevalent in less developed, patriarchal nations and non-democratic societies.

Violence or physical attack is not the only form of abuse. It takes many forms including but not limited to, stalking, financial abuse, sexual abuse, mental, controlling behaviour. It might begin in a small way. Perhaps a subtle undermining here or there. A tacit or implied insult. Perhaps at first it won’t even be noticed or recognised for what it is. It might remain hidden for years.

In writing this I have of course had to consider my own behaviour. Certainly I’ve never been physically violent to any woman nor directly or intentionally engaged in any of the other behaviours I’ve mentioned. Might I through negligence or thoughtlessness? Have some of my occasional humorous asides been inappropriate? My friends in the MU will, I think, not take offence and will know that I am only joking. I trust they would have told me if they thought anything I said inappropriate. Could some of my words have offended or insulted any female, particularly any that don’t know me so well? I hope not. It was never my intent. However, back to the wider issue.

If you would like to offer support the campaign or be more aware of the issues, plenty of resources are available. Try UN Women, Women’s Aid and, the one in which I have a personal interest as a member, the Mothers Union.

If you would like to talk with somebody about abuse, the leaflet in this link has useful information and telephone helplines.

If you see gender based violence or think you do,
Don’t look away, act against abuse“.

P.S. Although I don’t appear in the header picture, because I was behind the camera, I joined the event. I was not just the photographer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.