I Now Pronounce You Husband and Husband (OR Wife and Wife)

Same Sex Marriage: A Personal Opinion

As both a Christian and as a human being, I am opposed to marriage between same-sex partners. In this article, written a week which same sex marriage became legal in the UK, I want to try to look at the thorny question of same-sex marriage from a personal and practical point of view, leaving aside my Christian belief.

Before embarking on my main text, I feel I should make a few points clear:

  • This is an entirely personal opinion.
  • I am not opposed to Civil Partnership.
  • I have never felt attracted to another male, so perhaps have no real understanding of homosexuality.
  • I will not use “gay”in the same-sex context because the term is almost always mis-used. Gay, in the homosexual context is an acronym for Good As You and so should be written G.A.Y.
  • I do not in any way condone any of the vitriol and threats made on social media to supporters of same-sex marriage such as @VickyBeeching

My understanding of marriage, even before I became a practicing Christian, was and still is that it should be a lifetime union between a man and a woman. Within that union, if both partners aer in normal health, it would be possible to have a family; to procreate their line and the human species. This has been the understanding for millennia and I see no reason to change it now. No same-sex sexual practices are using the human sexual organs as they are physically intended to be used, the male organ penetrating the female organ.

Clearly any form of procreation within a homosexual relationship is impossible, unless you include the procreation of strains of disease which is equally possible within a heterosexual union.

For procreation to take place in a homosexual relationship, there would seem to be only two options. The first option would be by unnatural, medical intervention and clearly this would only apply to female sexual relationships. The other option is to have a child by natural means but to do so, this would require sexual activity outside the sanctity of Marriage. This means, it seems to me, would destroy the whole point of the marriage which is a commitment to one person. It would be a form of adultery, if that is the correct term to use in same-sex relationships.

In a survey, about 20% of people questioned said that if invited they would not attend a same sex marriage ceremony. Stonewall, the organisation for homosexual rights said this meant 4 out of 5 people would attend. I suspect Stonewall is painting a somewhat rosier picture than is warranted. Ok, 80% of people will attend. Of those, some just won’t care either way and some will go along just for the party and free food and alcohol, and would do that whatever the event might be.

It is my feeling that allowing marriage between same sex partners devalues the institution of marriage. I suspect that there will be cases where homosexuals just want it because other people have it. I will be most interested to see in, say, 10 years time how homosexual marriage breakup numbers compare with male/female marriage break ups. I would also be interested to know how many of the Civil Partnerships from within the first year they were possible are still extant now.

Finally, and I know this is stretching a point to an extreme example, something politicians and self-interest groups, like Stonewall, do it all the time to make a point, I believe that just because something is possible that does not make it right; if I owned a shotgun for pest control, it is not right for me to kill a person with it.

“I think that gay marriage should be between a man
and a woman.” – Arnold Schwarzenegger

One thought on “I Now Pronounce You Husband and Husband (OR Wife and Wife)

  1. Pingback: Is Marriage Without Sex Really a Marriage | My SEETHINGS

Leave a Reply

