Sampson’s Tragedy

A tale of nagging and emotional blackmail.

Samson & Delilah

When Sampson lost his strength, it was because his hair was cut; Cutting of his hair was the physical act that took his strength away but was it the real reason? Did the removal of Sampson’s hair actually make him weak, or might it have been psychological; because he believed he would become weak, his mind would not let him use his strength. In the end it doesn’t really matter whether it was physical or psychological, the root cause seems it was probably his own weak character.

His eventual downfall was because he couldn’t stand a woman’s nagging. She wore him down, bit by bit.  How many men can stand up to a woman’s nagging and emotional blackmail, even for as long as Samson did to Delilah. Some men can stand up to nagging, they live with it for years, and some can stand up to emotional blackmail but few, if any, would long be able to bear both together. Once Sampson met Delilah there was bound to be tragedy, in the Shakespearean sense; inevitability.

Judges 16

15 Then she said to him, “How can you say, ‘I love you,’ when you won’t confide in me? This is the third time you have made a fool of me and haven’t told me the secret of your great strength.” 16 With such nagging she prodded him day after day until he was tired to death.

17 So he told her everything. “No razor has ever been used on my head,” he said, “because I have been a Nazirite dedicated to God from my mother’s womb. If my head were shaved, my strength would leave me, and I would become as weak as any other man

Leave a Reply

