After Sandy

Another (possibly unpopular} perspective.

I guess the title I gave this post could have been the sequel to Grease, the 1978 movie starring John Travolta ad Danny and Olivia Newton-John as Sandy, but of course it is not. It refers to the aftermath of hurricane Sandy, and the devastation it left along America’s east coast and New York.

I should perhaps say that the opinion expressed is my own and is based entirely on what I have seen and heard in the news reports on television and newspapers in the UK. My only direct experience of New York was a single overnight stop, while passing through on a business trip to Pennsylvania, about three years ago.

I can see that the damage is extensive and I feel sorry for everyone who has lost a home, or family member or business. I can only imagine what it must be like. It is also plain to see, that cleaning up is going to take time, even in an advanced, western civilisation.

What has, unfortunately, struck me is the complaining and moaning, that has been referred to in the news. Apparently there have been fights over fuel, people want to know when will power, water, gas and a myriad of other services be back on again.

It seems to me that people, and I suspect it would be the same here in the UK, under similar circumstances, have got too used to their nice comfy lifestyles. It doesn’t seem to occur to them, that services they take for granted, are a luxury beyond the reach of millions of people around the world.

So remember New York and do what you can to help it get back to normal but, don’t forget about those that do not even have that kind of lifestyle to return to after the clean-up, the people for whom lack of power, fuel and running water is normal.

Leave a Reply

