Hope and Suffering.

How many of us really understand suffering? I know I don’t. Sure I moan about things from time to time but suffering; I’ve never really known it.  I’m sure some of us think we suffer but anyone who owns a computer, or device that enables them to read this, almost certainly doesn’t really know or understand suffering.

 Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.Romans:- 5: 3-4 NIV.

Where is the perseverance today when people only seem to want some material thing. Perseverance implies effort and patience, both so often absent in our ‘I want it now’ society.

I don’t have the answers but I do hope I’m not the only one who thinks about these things.

So what do you hope for?

Leave a Reply

